So one of the photographers I work with, Pete Springer, showed me a new photo editing program he has. You select an image and you mark the main features and then the program basically uses an algorithm and changes to the face to meet society’s conception of “beauty.” I was amazed when I saw it in action and promptly sent over my picture to be analyzed.

The program didn’t make too many changes… it basically spaced my eyes a little further apart and gave me a more rounded chin. I didn’t notice much change in my nose which is my least favorite feature I might add. I was pleased it didn’t touch my lips or my eye shape. 🙂 It did, however, get a little crazy on the skin smoothing.

Check out the pics…

This is "before"

This is "before"

This is "after"

This is "after"

Apparently, another program is soon to follow that will do the same thing with the body. We will all then be able to have longer, thinner legs and bigger breasts… all with just a click.

I’m not sure what I think of it to be honest… a little eerie. Isn’t it our individuality, our unique features, what makes us beautiful? Are we really all supposed to look “perfect” like dolls? I don’t think so…

~Terri
Terri Lodge, Makeup Artist Portland OR, Los Angeles CA, West Coast
Terri Lodge, Makeup Artistry, Portland, OR

